Washington Candidates Sworn In!

While most newly elected leaders will have to wait until the start of the 2011 Legislative Session next month to be sworn in, three of our victorious candidates in Washington have already been sworn in and are serving the people of their communities. All three of these fantastic new legislators served in the first lame-duck special session of Washington's legislature on December 11 and addressed the gaping budget shortfall.

State Senator Sharon Nelson

Sen. Sharon Nelson of Washington's 34th district previously served as State Representative in the district. The 34th district encompasses Vashon and Maury Islands, as well as West Seattle and parts of Burien and White Center. Sen. Nelson was sworn in after former Sen. Joe McDermott (another Progressive Majority candidate) took office as King County Councilmember in late November.


State Representative Joe Fitzgibbon

Also in the 34th district, Rep. Joe Fitzgibbon was sworn in to fill the vacancy left by Sen. Nelson. Rep. Fitzgibbon is the youngest member of the Legislature at 24 years old, and has already set his eye on advancing a strong progressive agenda during the 2011 session.


State Representative Luis Moscoso

In the 1st district, a suburban district situated on the King-Snohomish county line, Rep. Luis Moscoso is hard at work for his constituents in Olympia. Rep. Moscoso was sworn in to fill the vacancy left by the retirement of his predecessor earlier this year.

We're looking forward to watching Joe, Sharon and Luis during the 2011 session - which starts Jan. 11 - as well as helping make sure these progressive champions are serving their communities for many years to come.